Carey Mulligan’s ‘Promising Young Woman’ Wins Big at Columbus Awards

The new movie directed by Emerald Fennell has beat Oscar favorite ‘Nomadland’ to win Best Film at the 19th annual Columbus Film Critics Association awards.

AceShowbizCarey Mulligan‘s new movie “Promising Young Woman” has triumphed at 19th annual Columbus Film Critics Association awards, beating hot Oscars favourite “Nomadland“.

Writer/director Emerald Fennell‘s disturbing new film about a female sexual abuse vigilante has been crowned Best Film while Mulligan has landed the Best Actress honour. The movie’s screenplay is also a winner.

  See also…

  • Daisy Ridley Opens Up About the Not So Good Side of Joining ‘Star Wars’
  • Gal Gadot Burst Into Tears Watching ‘Wonder Woman 1984’ for First Time
  • David Hasselhoff on Working on New ‘Knight Rider’ Movie: I Have ‘Emotional Hand’ and ‘Passion’
  • Amy Adams to Have ‘The Woman in the Window’ Released on Netflix in First Half of 2021

“Nomadland” has also picked up three awards with Chloe Zhao named Best Director while Riz Ahmed‘s portrayal of a deaf drummer in “Sound of Metal” has scored him the Best Actor prize, making him an Oscars favourite.

The complete list of winners is:

  • Best Film – “Promising Young Woman
  • Best Director – Chloe Zhao (“Nomadland“)
  • Best Actor – Riz Ahmed (“Sound of Metal“)
  • Best Actress – Carey Mulligan (“Promising Young Woman“)
  • Best Supporting Actor – Paul Raci (“Sound of Metal“)
  • Best Supporting Actress – Youn Yuh-jung (“Minari“)
  • Best Ensemble – “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
  • Actor of the Year (for an exemplary body of work) – Chadwick Boseman (“Da 5 Bloods” and “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom“)
  • Breakthrough Film Artist – Emerald Fennell (“Promising Young Woman“)
  • Best Cinematography – Joshua James Richards (“Nomadland“)
  • Best Film Editing – Alan Baumgarten (“The Trial of the Chicago 7“)
  • Best Adapted Screenplay – Chloe Zhao (“Nomadland“)
  • Best Original Screenplay – Emerald Fennell (“Promising Young Woman“)
  • Best Score – Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (“Soul“)
  • Best Documentary – “Dick Johnson Is Dead
  • Best Foreign Language Film – “Minari
  • Best Animated Film – “Wolfwalkers
  • Best Overlooked Film – “The Vast of Night

Source: Read Full Article